The fall


Source: http://www.openlounge.org/settee/falling/
Source: http://www.openlounge.org/settee/falling/

You kicked.
I felt a lurch, a tug deep in my gut.
First came relief. Voila! I can feel again,
Then seeped in the pain.
Away from the forces of gravity,
And other laws of Newton.
I could feel the wind in my hair.
As I felt the body fly through the empty space.
Empty. That’s how my heart feels.
An out of body experience, I could see myself.
Falling, flailing, crying, fighting; all while aflight.
Then with acceptance came peace.
Something never unknown, but still not known.
Peace.
A smile dressing my lips, tears of joy caressing my eyes;
If someone catches me while I fall, I care not.
Through the fall, I just rose;
Rose up, stood up, and smiled.

Leave a Reply

